Skip to content

Creamy Avocado ‘Carbonara’

April 6, 2011

36_blog

Cashew cream? Boring. Soy cream? You’re kidding!

Avocado cream? Tell me more!

That’s right – avocado! This stuff does wonders when you want to add creaminess to anything from smoothies to sauces. While it gives the dish a bit of  green color, it’s just as creamy as any soy-based cream.

I remember first seeing this genius pasta sauce on Oh She Glows a while back but not being able to find good avocados. (Sadly) it became another bookmarked buried deep in a folder of hundreds of other amazing recipes, all of which I’ve promised I’ll try! I spotted some great-looking avocados on sale the other day, picked up a few and immediately remembered this recipe. The moment I got back home, I whipped up this delicious lunch…

Barely adapted from Oh She Glows

Ingredients:

  1. 1 medium sized ripe Avocado, pitted
  2. Juice and zest of half a lemon
  3. 2-3 garlic cloves, depending on your taste (I used 2 only)
  4. Pinch of salt (to taste)
  5. ¼ cup of fresh herbs (I used half basil and half parsley, I’d probably opt for all parsley next time)
  6. 2 T extra virgin olive oil
  7. 1/3 cup of walnuts, chopped and toasted
  8. Freshly ground pepper (to taste)
  9. Fresh parsley, to garnish
  10. Pasta, to serve (2-3 serves, around 80z?)

 

  1. Begin by cooking your pasta.
  2. Meanwhile, make the sauce by place lemon juice (not the zest), garlic and olive oil in a food processor. Process until fairly smooth.
  3. Add in the remaining ingredients except for those used to garnish/decorate (ie everything except walnuts, pepper, parsley for garnish, pasta and zest). Process until very smooth and creamy.
  4. Toss the pasta in the sauce.
  5. To serve, garnish with fresh parsley, pepper, lemon zest and walnuts.

Don’t forget to get that pasta cookin’ – I know I did Confused smile

To make the wonderful, wonderful sauce, begin by placing the lemon juice, garlic and oil in your processor:

36_01

 

In goes the avocado and the other ingredients:

36_02

Wheeee! Process until creamy.

36_03

Grab your pasta, cooked until it’s al dente.

36_04

 

Sauce goes on…

36_05

…and gets all mixed in, plus the decorations. On that note, the walnuts add great crunch and a somewhat smoky flavour. One of my victims willing taste-testers noted that it kind of represented bacon in this strangely carbonara-like sauce. ‘It’s like vegan carbonara’ were his exact words!

36_06

Pearl xo

P.S. I know I promised another variation of the rice pudding, I haven’t forgotten! Maybe in the next week or so Smile

18 Comments leave one →
  1. April 7, 2011 6:13 am

    This DOES looks delicious!

  2. April 7, 2011 2:05 pm

    I’ve tried Angela’s recipe and loved it. I like your version with the addition of walnuts and how you describe the taste they add. Bacon? That’s amazing!

  3. April 7, 2011 5:56 pm

    Ah that pasta dish look amazing! I’ve never added avocado to my pasta :D

  4. caron lyn permalink
    April 7, 2011 6:01 pm

    This sounds delicious! I absolutely love avocado and must try this!

  5. April 10, 2011 1:03 am

    This looks great! I’m definitely gonna give this a go!

  6. April 10, 2011 5:02 pm

    YES! I love Angela’s recipe for this avocado sauce! I tried it with pasta and I tried it on top of salad…it’s so good on shredded cabbage!

  7. April 12, 2011 9:14 pm

    yum yum!! delicious creamy pasta!! I love using avocado like this and with the addition of walnuts, super delicious!!!

  8. April 22, 2011 9:42 pm

    I just made a cashew cream pasta for dinner tonight and was feeling let down by its blandness. I’m taking this one for sure next time- thanks!

  9. Moonlight permalink
    April 26, 2011 9:55 am

    Hi there…

    I am curious whether you can process a bit of the walnuts and zest with the avocado cream or would that alter the taste too much???
    The dish looks really good by the way. I am definitely going to try this one…

    • April 26, 2011 3:36 pm

      No, I’m sure that would be fine, you’d probably just want to watch how much lemon zest goes into it if you don’t want it to be too lemon-y. Hope it goes well!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 79 other followers

