Skip to content

Hazelnut Cappuccino Rice Pudding

April 25, 2011

42_blog

Bonjour!

First off, I’d like to apologise for my brief blog absence over this past Easter weekend. In the midst of vacationing and Easter celebrations, sadly I couldn’t find the time to write a post and greet you a Happy Easter! Better late than never, though, and I hope that you all had a joyful Easter Smile

If you’ve been reading my blog for a bit, or if you’ve taken a peek at my recipe page, you may have noticed that I have a bit of a thing for these rice puddings. They all use the same ‘base’ recipe and are all oh-so-easy and quick  to whip up, making them perfect for breakfast. Unlike the other rice puddings however, today’s recipe doesn’t use fruit.

No, it uses something even better (though not quite as good as chocolate): COFFEE Open-mouthed smile <—this here is the face I make after having 5 cups.

Like some of my other recipes, this was an experiment which fortunately turned out quite nicely. It uses a strong dose of real coffee so you won’t be missing out on any caffeine, though surely there’s no harm in having an extra cup with this breakfast?

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup cooked brown rice
  • 1/2 cup nondairy milk (I used soy)
  • 1/2 cup strong coffee
  • 1 tbsp raw sugar
  • 1 tbsp raisins
  • about 3 tbsp hazelnuts, roughly chopped
  • 1/4 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp vanilla extract (you could try coffee extract – if you do, let me know how it goes!)
  • drizzle of soymilk and chopped hazelnuts to serve
  1. Brew your coffee – I chose to make strong coffee from instant coffee granules, but you can use coffee from a press or a bag so long as you make it really strong.
  2. Place all ingredients including the coffee (except the drizzle of soymilk and chopped hazelnuts for serving) in a small saucepan and stir to combine.
  3. Heat over medium-high heat and allow to boil continuously, stirring constantly, until mixture is reduced and the desired consistency is reached (takes around 10 minutes). Serve with a touch of soymilk and chopped hazelnuts on top. Makes about 3/4 cup of rice pudding, a small serve for one.

It’s crucial that you make your coffee extra-strong in order for the flavor to shine in the finished pudding. If you’re worried about caffeine, you can always use decaf – it’s the flavor that counts. On that note, I’ll have to try this with tea.

42_05

As with all the other rice puddings, it’s simply a matter of placing all the ingredients in a saucepan. Sweet and simple!

42_01

Within ten minutes you have a decadent, warm rice pudding:

42_03

Enjoy Winking smile

42_04

How long do you spend making breakfast?

What other rice pudding spin-offs would you like to see?

Pearl xo

10 Comments leave one →
  1. April 25, 2011 8:03 pm

    Interesting use of cappuccino and rice. I keep thinking of adding coffee to my oatmeal but I always chicken out lol

  2. April 25, 2011 9:16 pm

    My boyfriend is obsessed with the store bought rice pudding by Cozy Shack. I’ve tried a couple non-vegan recipes, but none ever added up. This will be next on my list- I’ll let you know what the verdict is!

  3. April 26, 2011 12:07 pm

    This looks so good. Would you shun me if I admitted that I’ve never had rice pudding, though?! It’s true :\ I’m just not a huge rice fan so I never have any on hand…but there’s no doubt in my mind that I would love it prepared in this way.
    I used to make my oatmeal with coffee allll the time – so good! Can’t wait to see more variations :]

    • April 26, 2011 3:43 pm

      Of course I wouldn’t shun you! This reminds me, I really should try it with quinoa or buckwheat kernels for those who aren’t so fond of rice :)

  4. caron lyn permalink
    April 26, 2011 7:03 pm

    This sounds like a great breakfast treat!
    Now I might have to try making a slightly faster, lazy college-kid’s version of rice pudding.

  5. April 29, 2011 9:29 am

    I could never get over the look of rice pudding so I always wrote it off before even trying. It looks super healthy though. I have been trying new things maybe its time for this as well

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 73 other followers

