Skip to content

Thick and Creamy Hummus

December 24, 2010


I haven’t eaten many things that I can describe as creamy, thick, addictive and healthy. Then again, I hadn’t made this hummus.

But that ended with this recipe! This is hands down one of the yummiest dips/condiments I’ve made and I wonder how I was ever content with salt-laden and too-garlicky supermarket hummus. I’m sure I don’t have to remind you that thanks to the chickpeas and tahini, this hummus is packed with protein and iron and contains no suspicious-looking ingredients 😀

And because it’s healthy, that means I can eat the whole recipe in one sitting, right? Riiight?

Adapted from Oh She Glows

Ingredients:

  • 1 C canned Chickpeas, liquid from can reserved
  • 2 T Liquid from Can of Chickpeas (or water)
  • 1 Clove of Garlic
  • 3 T tahini
  • 4 T fresh lemon juice
  • 5 drops* Tabasco sauce
  • Salt
  • Olive oil, to drizzle
  • Paprika, to garnish

*Note: Next time I would like to add more Tabasco, but adjust according to your taste.

  1. Place all ingredients except for salt, oil and paprika into a food processor and blend until the hummus is a bit chunky.
  2. Taste to see if you would like to add salt and add if necessary.
  3. Continue to process until hummus is smooth and creamy. Serve drizzled with olive oil and sprinkled with paprika. Makes about 1 to 1.5 cups hummus (rough estimate!)

Into the food processor they go!

Spin it, and within a matter of minutes… hummus.

Cue the crackers…

Want a bite? 😉

Wow.


Leave a Reply

