Skip to content

Coconut and Lime Cupcake for One with Lime Avocado Buttercream

January 13, 2011


Meet the new star of the Crunch and Chew header!

If this isn’t your first time visiting my blog, you’ll have noticed that it’s had a bit of a makeover.

Crunch and Chew – Before:

Crunch and Chew – After:

The designing and formatting took much longer than I expected as I ran into numerous problems with themes and installing Typekit. So frustrating! But I found a handy tutorial to guide me through and all the work payed off – I’m really pleased with how the new look turned out 🙂

I was inspired to bake something a little special to appear in the new header, but I was sure that if I made 12 cupcakes that I’d eat them all myself! And so came the idea of a ‘cupcake for one’. Honestly, I was a little nervous! I’ve heard tales of ‘cupcake for one’ flops – things like the batter never baking or the texture being off. You can imagine my relief when I finally got to take a bite to discover that it was great. The best thing about this cupcake is that you don’t have to share it with anyone. Go on, be a little selfish 😉

As for the frosting, I wanted to make a vegan frosting but had no vegan butter or margarine on hand, so research brought me to a recipe for an avocado buttercream. I was skeptical, trust me, but this frosting is really amazing – I’d choose it over traditional buttercream any day. It’s a very thick and rich frosting and doesn’t taste avocado-y at all.

Coconut and Lime Cupcake for One

Adapted from Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World (must-have book!)

  • 1 + 1/4 T soy milk
  • Tiny drop of white vinegar
  • 1/2 T sunflower (or any other light-tasting) oil
  • 1 T raw sugar
  • Drop of vanilla
  • 1 + 3/4 T self-raising flour
  • 1/2 t cornstarch
  • 1 t fresh lime juice
  • 1 t shredded unsweetened coconut
  • pinch lime zest (optional)
  1. Preheat oven to 350F/180C
  2. In a small cup, mix the soy milk and vinegar and allow to curdle.
  3. In a small bowl, whisk the soy and vinegar mixture, sugar, oil and vanilla for about 1 minute or until most of the sugar has dissolved.
  4. Sift in the flour and cornstarch. Mix well to combine.
  5. Stir in lime juice, coconut and optional lime zest.
  6. Pour batter into one cupcake paper/tin and bake for 18-20 minutes or until a skewer comes out clean when inserted.
  7. Cool on a wire rack completely before icing. Makes one cupcake.

Lime Avocado Buttercream

Adapted from Chocolate and Tea

  • 1/4 of a medium avocado
  • 1/4 t fresh lime juice
  • 110g icing sugar
  • 2 t cornstarch
  • pinch lime zest (optional)
  1. In a medium-sized bowl, beat the avocado and lime juice until smooth.
  2. In batches, sift in the icing sugar and cornstarch, beating well after each addition.
  3. Stir in the lime zest if using. Makes about 2/3 C frosting.

To decorate the cupcake:

Spread a thin layer of frosting over the cupcake, then pipe a swirl of frosting on top. Garnish with a piece of lime and some shredded coconut. (I used a no. 30 star tip to pipe)

Chances are you’ll have leftover frosting, this can be stored in an airtight container in the fridge. If you’re not sure what to do with it… try it on toast! I guarantee it tastes nice, kind of like a sweet avocado butter 😉


12 Comments leave one →
  1. Tiffany permalink
    January 14, 2011 10:34 am

    I love that you adapted it to just 1 serving! It sounds really tasty, too. I’m really curious about the avocado frosting. Certainly much healthier than regular buttercream!

  2. January 16, 2011 2:24 am

    love this recipe and your blog redesign. 🙂

  3. January 16, 2011 5:50 am

    Sounds interesting. I think I might give this a try! Thanks so much for the recipe. 🙂

  4. January 16, 2011 8:20 am

    Thanks guys!

  5. January 16, 2011 12:41 pm

    love your blog!
    I look forward to seeing more!

  6. January 17, 2011 1:49 pm

    Yummy! This cupcake looks so good. I’ve been adding lime to many things lately so I love this recipe and since its just for one I have a really good reason to make these.

  7. Hillary permalink
    February 26, 2011 5:29 am

    is there any way you could post a recipe with amounts for the dozen batch? the single serving is a great idea, but i never can eat just one, and i have hungry roommates too 🙂

  8. April 21, 2011 6:21 pm

    This is so great! I’m loving the single-serving cupcake thing, and the flavor combo is amazing. I’m sold on anything involving coconut. 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Super Skinny Banana-Pecan Muffins « Crunch and Chew
  2. Vanilla Cashew Fudge Frosting « Crunch and Chew

Leave a Reply

