Skip to content

Saucy Sweet Chilli and Soy Sauce Tofu

February 6, 2011

No, not that type of saucy – this one’s a tasty, no-strings-attached kind of saucy!

Sorry I’ve been a bit MIA this past week, I’ve been kept on my toes with lots of work and haven’t found the time to blog 😦 but that doesn’t mean I haven’t been cooking, so look out for more recipes to come.

Despite not making many appearances on Crunch and Chew, I love tofu. It is such a versatile food, featuring in dishes all the way from cheesecake to noodles. But sometimes there’s nothing better than plain old baked tofu in a quick + easy marinade for a simple weeknight dish that you can throw together in a pinch. If you’re ever in need – why not this dish? πŸ™‚

Ingredients:

  • 250g block of extra firm tofu, drained and cut into cubes/rectangles and slashed (cuts made so that the marinade can penetrate the tofu)
  • 1/4 cup soy sauce (I used a mixture of dark and light soy sauce, but plain dark works fine too)
  • 1/3 cup sweet chilli sauce
  • Fresh lime, to serve (opt.)
  1. Pour the soy sauce and sweet chilli sauce in a large ziploc bag and combine well.
  2. Place the tofu in the bag and coat pieces well in the sauce.
  3. Marinate for about 1 or 2 hours. Try to flip the bag halfway so the other side of the tofu can lie in the sauce too.
  4. Reserve the sauce and take out the tofu pieces. Bake them at 400F/200C in a baking pan lined with foil (lightly oiled with sesame oil if you wish) for 15-20 minutes or until cooked through.
  5. While the tofu is baking, pour the sauce into a small saucepan and heat gently until reduced and thick.
  6. Serve tofu with the thick sauce and a squeeze of fresh lime juice.

I find that ‘slashing’ the tofu like this always helps to get the flavor of the marinade right into the center of it:

Everything in the ziploc baggie, makes clean up so easy!

I would highly recommend serving it with that squish of lime, it counteracts nicely with the thick, salty and sweet sauce.

Delish, served on one of my favorite plates πŸ™‚

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 7, 2011 2:14 pm

    This looks really yummy, I always forget how easy tofu is. Sweet and spicy is my favorite flavor combination as well. Nice!

  2. natureinsider permalink
    February 10, 2011 6:48 pm

    I’m not a big tofu fan, but I keep thinking lately that I should give it one more try πŸ™‚
    And this recipe looks exactly like the one I needed!

  3. Karyn permalink
    February 14, 2011 8:33 am

    This looks delicious!

    All this time and I have never thought to score the tofu to allow the marinade to penetrate. Can’t wait to make it. πŸ™‚

  4. Rachel permalink
    May 12, 2011 7:12 am

    This looks very very delicious! I wish my family would accept this, but I’m pretty sure my dad would shun it. xD I’ll have to make this for myself soon, thank you!

Leave a Reply

