Skip to content

Spaghetti Bolognese (Quick, Easy and Vegan!)

February 19, 2011

Hellooooo!

Following a busy week I’ll be having an ever busier weekend (if that’s possible!), so I thought that I’d leave you with my favorite creation from the past week.

I remember turning vegetarian and thinking that my days of mince were over. Little did I know that there were heaps of great mock-mince products on the market although I’ve only recently brought myself to try one. I’m quite impressed – it’s not exactly like meat, of course, but considering that the brand I bought was vegan it’s pretty darn close!

I settled for a classic spag bol to try the mock-mince in for the first time, and just like that I had no more spaghetti left 😦 Not for long, though…

Ingredients:

  • 150g of your favorite veggie mince, pre-cooked (check the label to see if it’s vegan)
  • 400g (approx.) jar of your favorite tomato-based pasta sauce (I used a herb and chilli one which worked amazingly!)
  • 2 small or 1 large carrot, sliced/finely diced/however you like
  • Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • Cooked spaghetti, to serve
  • Fresh parsley, to garnish
  1. In a large saucepan, heat the olive oil on medium heat.
  2. Cook carrots until soft.
  3. Add in sauce and mince. Season to taste.
  4. Serve over cooked spaghetti with a crack of fresh black pepper and some parsley.

That’s it! Don’t be deceived by how easy it seems, this dish is ridiculously delicious.

By the way, it makes great leftovers  – bonus 😉

Pearl xo

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 3, 2011 8:16 am

    yeah nice

Leave a Reply

