Skip to content

‘Cheezy’ Oatmeal

February 24, 2011

Those raindrops keep fallin’ on my head, they keep fallin’…

No idea why, but I’ve had that line stuck in my head for the whole day! It’s so annoying to have only that line repeating over and over – not even the whole chorus!

Aside from that, I have much more exciting news: I bought my first ever bag of nutritional yeast! I’ve been wanting to buy some for a very very very long time but have never really gotten round to it, until I revisited a few bookmarked recipes with ‘cheeze’, giving me a reminder to go out and get some.

I was totally stuck when it came to deciding what nutritional yeast recipe to make first, but eventually settled for Oh She Glows’ savory oats seeing as I was craving oats and cheese (call me strange!) and this recipe was where I first found out about nutritional yeast.

Having said that, what is nutritional yeast anyway?

According to the ever so useful Wiki:

Nutritional yeast, similar to brewer’s yeast, is a deactivated yeast… It is popular with vegans and vegetarians and may be used as an ingredient in recipes or as a condiment. Nutritional yeast is produced by culturing the yeast with a mixture of sugarcane and beet molasses, then harvesting, washing, drying and packaging the yeast.

Sounds a bit scary to me :S The main gist of it is that it’s a yeast that isn’t like the yeast you use to make bread rise, and it’s popular with vegans especially since it’s similar to cheese in taste and color. It’s also a great source of B-Vitamins and some brands fortify their yeast with Vitamin B12 which may not be so easy to come by if you’re a vegan. It’s amazing stuff – good for your body and great for your tastebuds 😉

If you’ve never had a bowl, you might be skeptical about savory oats – I was, for sure. I urge you to try it though, because I found that I really liked it ended up eating the whole bowl the first time I made some before I could take a nice photo! They were creamy, cheezy and had the classic oatmeal texture that I love. The credit for this recipe goes to the wonderful Angela at Oh She Glows, who you can always rely on for the yummiest vegan recipes!

Barely adapted from Oh She Glows

Ingredients:

1/4 C rolled oats

1/4 C soy (or any other non dairy) milk

1/2 C water

1 T nutritional yeast

Pinch of a buillon cube (maybe about an 1/8 to a 1/4 of a tsp depending on taste)

Salt, to taste (very unlikely you’ll need it!)

  1. Combine and mix all ingredients in a small saucepan and heat over medium-high heat.
  2. When oatmeal begins to bubble and steam, reduce heat to a simmer.
  3. Stir frequently until oats are cooked and oatmeal has reached your desired consistency.

And for those who want something a little different…

Pizza Oats!

Just top the cheezy oatmeal with your favourite pasta sauce and some parsley/basil/other fresh herbs. I used some chilli-tomato pasta sauce and garnished the oatmeal with a little parsley:

Wow.

Pearl xo

9 Comments leave one →
  1. February 25, 2011 6:53 am

    I’ve never had cheese with my oats. Definitely look interesting 🙂

  2. February 25, 2011 8:52 am

    I really want to try nutritional yeast! In fact I saw it yesterday and was debating whether I should buy it… but I decided maybe next time. Wish I bought it now. This looks great

  3. February 25, 2011 2:55 pm

    I made these tonight, but topped them with sauteed swiss chard instead of tomato sauce and they were sooooo good! Not very cheesy tasting but they had a great flavor and they really couldn’t be easier to make.

    Thanks fort the recipe!

  4. March 4, 2011 5:23 am

    Oh my gosh, yum! And the tomato sauce is a really interesting addition — never thought of that, but I’m sure it’s great!

Trackbacks

  1. Broccoli Cheddar Soup « Crunch and Chew

Leave a Reply

