Skip to content

Carrot Cake Wrap

March 14, 2011

Good evening/afternoon/morning! (Wherever you may be…)

I’ll warn you first, there’s some sad stuff and glad stuff in this post, so here goes the sad:

No doubt that you’ve heard of the devastating earthquakes that have hit New Zealand and more recently Japan, and have seen the extent of the devastation on the net or on the news. My thoughts and prayers are with all of the affected and I thank my lucky stars for being somewhere that doesn’t really get affected by natural disasters or so on. It’s great if you choose to show your support, but just a reminder that you should always make sure that you make donations to a trustworthy organisation (I think that the Red Cross is a great choice) if you choose to do so πŸ™‚

Now for some gladness! The other day I wanted carrot cake for lunch.Β With cream cheese icing… my cravings are as crazy as I am. However, I also had very little time on hand and a bit lazy, so I couldn’t bake – but I couldn’t get that niggling need for carrot cake off my back!

I ended up getting my carrot cake fix from this amazing wrap (inspired by Lauren!). It’s a heap healthier than the traditional cake and it takes no time at all to make. I highly recommend that you toast this wrap if you’re giving it a go; the wrap itself becomes nice and crisp and the cream cheese becomes super soft and melted… bliss!

Ingredients:

  • 1 lavash/tortilla/any other kind of wrap (preferably whole wheat to boost nutritional value)
  • 1 medium-sized carrot, grated
  • 1 t ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 t ground ginger
  • 1/8t nutmeg
  • 1 tbsp raisins
  • 1 tbsp chopped walnut or pecan pieces, toasted (I reaaaally want to try this next time)
  • Tofutti Better Than Cream Cheese (or regular)
  • Maple syrup to sweeten (optional, I personally didn’t find any need for this)
  1. Spread the cream cheese onto your wrap and sprinkle over spices. When spreading the cream cheese, leave about an inch of wrap bare.
  2. Add grated carrot to one side of the wrap and sprinkle over raisins and nut pieces. If using maple syrup, drizzle it onto the carrot.
  3. Roll ‘er up! Start from the side of the wrap opposite to the one that you’ve left bare and try to roll the wrap up as tightly as possible.
  4. If toasting (recommended), toast in an oven on tray lined with foil for about 3-5 minutes at 350F/180C.

Such an easy way to get in a serve of vegetables – look at all that carrot!

Carrot cake craving no more πŸ˜‰

Pearl xo

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 16, 2011 6:16 am

    Quite brilliant!

Leave a Reply

