Skip to content

Broccoli Cheddar Soup

March 19, 2011

I think I have a bit of a reputation for something, and it’s not altogether too good.

It’s for being late – not the ‘she turned up one hour later’ type of late; more the ‘perennially five minutes late’. While that’s really not an excuse for posting this St Patty’s post two days late, or for not having posted anything in over a week, I guess it gives you a bit of an insight as to how I operate. That’s just how I roll 😉

My St Patrick’s day was filled with heaps of green – green monsters, green salad and this green soup. This was my second time making it and it’s just as good (or dare I say better!) than the first. Don’t let the greenness of the soup turn you off. It’s just its way of screaming out how healthy it is despite being so delicious and so ‘cheezy’. Once again, nutritional yeast proves to be a great vegan tool for adding cheesiness and creaminess sans dairy (though this recipe does call on some Daiya or vegan cheese to help it out). If you’d like, you can read more here about the wonderful benefits of nutritional yeast.

The star of this soup is definitely the broccoli, though. Broccoli is probably one of the world’s healthiest foods, ever – tons of vitamin C, folic acid, calcium and so much more plus it’s relatively low-calorie if you’re watching your weight.

Enough about health, you’re probably itching to see the recipe! I highly encourage you to check out it out over at Daily Garnish, a great blog written by the lovely Emily. I guarantee you won’t regret it 🙂

Served with a side of crusty sourdough…

Hello, my name is Pearl and I’m addicted to all things green.

Pearl xo

PS. I rarely call nutritional yeast by it’s full name – always ‘cheast’ (like cheese and yeast) or nutryeast 😉

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 20, 2011 6:10 pm

    That soup looks great! I love broccoli!!!!

Leave a Reply

