Skip to content

Double Chocolate Chunk Banana Pancakes

March 21, 2011

Hello πŸ™‚ I hope you’ve all had a wonderful start to your week! Mine’s been pretty busy, but I’m still managing to fit in cooking and a little exercise between a TON of work and errands. Enough of my whining though: let’s talk pancakes.

I have a love-hate relationship with these pancakes. I’m not joking.Β I love them because of their gooey chocolate and soft banana chunks that are hidden inside this wonderful chocolate-y fluffiness. Intense, I know πŸ˜‰

I hate them, because they would not let me get a decent photo of them. It’s probably not fair for me to blame that on them – it could well be the fact that it was so early that it was still pitch-black out, or that my camera’s not exactly high end, or that I hadn’t had a good dose of coffee yet. So if it’s not these pancakes’ fault, then I have absolutely no reason to hate them, which makes it a love-love relationship.

Don’t get me wrong, however: I don’t love them enough not to eat them.

Ingredients:

  • 3T nondairy milk (I used regular soy, but a sweetened vanilla or chocolate one would work great!)
  • 1/4 C whole wheat flour
  • 1 t baking powder
  • 1 t raw sugar (opt.)
  • 1 T cocoa powder
  • 1/2 a very small banana or 1/4 large banana, mashed (leave it a little chunky so you get your banana chunks!)
  • 2 tbsp chocolate chunks (I just broke up two squares of Lindt 85% dark chocolate – it’s vegan)
  • Sliced strawberries and maple syrup, to serve.
  1. Combine sugar and flour in a small bowl and sift in cocoa and baking powder, mixing to combine. Make a well in the center and add mashed banana and milk.
  2. Whisk mixture together, slowly incorporating the dry ingredients to the wet in the middle, trying to eliminate lumps.
  3. Fold in chocolate chunks.
  4. Cook on a lightly oiled pan as you would with a normal pancake, flipping over once the uncooked side starts to bubble.
  5. Serve topped with sliced strawberries and maple syrup. Serves one (makes three small pancakes).

I actually made these on Shrove (Fat! Pancake!) Tuesday and I thought they’d be perfect since it’s the day of the year to have pancakes and I’m saying bye to chocolate for lent. That’s right, no chocolate for six weeks – crazy!

Blurrrry. Time for coffee?

That’s better.

Pearl xo

16 Comments leave one →
  1. March 21, 2011 12:50 pm

    Chocolate chunks in pancakes. What a wonderful idea!

  2. March 21, 2011 3:07 pm

    yummy! love chocolate breakfasts!

  3. March 21, 2011 3:46 pm

    Those pancakes look so fluffy! love em πŸ™‚

  4. March 21, 2011 8:13 pm

    The photos don’t have to be perfect to tell me that these are delicious!

  5. March 22, 2011 10:30 am

    I just started this healthy food photo sharing site: http://healthfreakfood.com/

    I would love it if you submitted your pretty food photos! πŸ™‚

  6. crustabakes permalink
    March 23, 2011 5:54 pm

    I totally understand how it’s hard to photograph certain foods. u just cant get them to co operate as you break your back trying to get a decent shot from a good angle. These pancakes however, sound delicious. I would just dive into them, with “gooey chocolate” and “soft banana chunks”, i dont think anyone needs a good photo to be convinced !

  7. March 24, 2011 9:33 am

    Oh my, these sound fabulous. Chocolate and banana are the perfect combo. Some of my favorite cookbooks don’t include a single photo so don’t worry about your pictures, just keep practicing and you will get better. Good luck!

  8. March 26, 2011 4:21 pm

    THESE look yummo. I don’t care what kind of photos they have, they look good to me!!

Leave a Reply

