Skip to content

Pumpkin Spiced Almond Butter

March 27, 2011

It’s a lie.

Chocolate’s not my guilty indulgence – it’s nut butter (I think I tweeted about this a while ago?!). I couldn’t imagine what it’d be like to be allergic to nuts (or even worse: nuts and chocolate)! I’m the sort of gal who takes any nut butter thrown at her so long as it’s all-natural and not that dry fake stuff, but let me assure you that this isn’t just any nut butter.

This is a nut butter out of this world; the king of nut butters; nut butter heaven.

I don’t know where to begin when describing this nut butter! It’s sweet yet salt-kissed and, believe you me, it won’t last very long. Β The spices make it a really ‘warm’ tasting nut butter – perfect for cold weather (or warm, I’ll eat this whenever!).

A huge thank you to Ashley who brought this recipe to life. She has so many other great-looking recipes, especially nut butters, which I’m dying to try!

It all starts with a handful of plain old almonds, some maple syrup and molasses.

Mix it all up! You’ll have to get your hands a bit sticky πŸ˜‰

They’ll clump up and caramelize in the oven. Mine stuck to the foil a little, so I’d suggest using a light spray of oil or simply bending the foil a lot to get it off like I had to. It’ll smell delicious…

Into the food processor they go! Make sure yours is fairly heavy-duty as almonds take a while to butterize. It’ll be a bit noisy!

First the nuts turn into a meal of sorts. Now that I think about it, this would be a knockout almond meal replacement.

The nut butter will start to come together like you see below (then later form a ball of nut ‘dough’, before separating again.

Patience is the key with nut butters, but I definitely let out a squeal or sigh of relief when I saw this:

Which soon enough became smooth, buttery heaven!

Almost there. It’s just a matter of adding a few remaining ingredients and blending them in.

Once they’re mixed in, you’re done! Enjoy the nut butter with jelly, on oatmeal, off a spoon, dare I say fingers?

It’s all about moderation.

Pearl xo

13 Comments leave one →
  1. March 28, 2011 2:42 am

    Ashley has inspired similar deliciousness in my kitchen too. I recently made a maple cinnamon almond butter that made me swoon.

    Trying to tell others about the patience required for nut butter making is hard. No one believes the meal will turn into butter. Your photos are a great resource to walk us all through the process. Thank you.

    • March 29, 2011 5:51 am

      Oh, I must try that almond butter!
      It is hard to believe that the nuts turn into a smooth and creamy butter and the noise during processing makes some people around me very nervous haha πŸ™‚

  2. March 28, 2011 6:25 am

    mmmm I think I can smell it over here! πŸ˜‰

  3. March 28, 2011 6:56 am

    Mmmmmmm! I GOTTA try this! Beautiful blog πŸ™‚

  4. March 28, 2011 6:58 am

    your gallery is wonderful too! the beet dip photo really pops!

  5. March 28, 2011 4:11 pm

    Nothing is better then homemade nut butters!! This recipe is to die!! Thanks!!!

    • March 29, 2011 5:53 am

      No problem, and I totally agree, there’s just something there that makes them more special than store-bought! Maybe it’s because of all the time + effort you’ve put in πŸ™‚

  6. March 28, 2011 8:33 pm

    Maple nut butter! That sounds so good. I bet I could eat it with just a spoon πŸ˜€

  7. Kristina permalink
    March 29, 2011 8:43 pm

    YUM! This looks amazing, can’t wait to try the recipe!

Leave a Reply

